A Math Teacher’s Fear of Computerized Testing

TeachersCount Blog

I know this post is slightly off the January topic, but I wanted to get back into posting.

When our school system initially switched to the computerized version of our high school assessment for algebra, I had the same concerns that many mathematics teachers do.  I worried mainly about how my students would interact with the test questions.  

Learning and understanding mathematics is a hands on experience.  Students learn to circle and underline key information in order to analyze problems.  They draw pictures to visualize scenarios.  They create tables and graphs to represent patterns and functions.  They write out their steps to solve equations.  Their pencil and paper are vital tools in analyzing, solving, and justifying their solutions.

The core of mathematics problem-solving is attacking a problem from several directions with key strategies and tools.My fear was that the tools and strategies that made students successful in my class…

View original post 221 more words

Comments are closed.

