Reader writes concerning Eager Free Public Library.

I will start with saying that I have followed your blog and the Observer’s blog for several years and have never taken the time to comment,  I just enjoy reading what you offer.    I have worked for the State of Wisconsin for twenty years. (yes I am one of those employees)  I have had to run my dept for the last five years with no pay raises, a hiring freeze for the last two years, and no increase in our budget for the last four years.  We have learned to do more with less, and that is exactly what Kathi Kemp and the library needs to do.

I was reading the articles on the Evansville Observer about the issues with the Eager Free Public Library.
I find it quite concerning they are not staying within their budget.   If they are having to come and ask for more money, if other sources are paying for their needs, books, repairs etc.. they are not staying within their budget.

These are all things that should come directly from the library budget.   I have serious questions about how the library is being run.    I am different than you in the fact that I do not believe a larger library is needed.

I have used the E.F.P.L before I am not impressed with Kathi Kemp at all.  I have watched her interact with people, and unless she has someone to impress she comes across as very snotty and short with people.

I once heard her say to someone “To work in a library you have to be very precise , very detail orientated.”    YET they are missing 1000.00?  due to a accounting error according to the post on the Evansville Observer and  this  friends of the library had to pick up the tab?

That is inexcusable on the library’s part, and it falls directly on the librarian, there should be no ordering of anything if you do not have the money.   Maybe the library needs to start paying for things as they are ordered and not on credit.

The author of some of these posts, Fred Jergens suggests we contact our alder person  or city and let them know they should support the library more.    I have contacted my alderpersons and I told them enough is enough.

Everyone standing there with their hand out instead of living with what they have.

Friends of the Library should go back to funding only things they intended to fund when they started their group.
It is the librarians job and responsibility to make the budget work, not for her to go fishing for more money from any one she can.

No more money to the library.. no larger library not when as you pointed out there are many resources to use besides the library.  They are large enough and costing taxpayers enough as it is.

Our family uses, internet, kindle,  buying books we really want, and book swaps. WE use the library occasionally not like we used to.    Sorry libraries are not as in ‘demand’ as they once were and the Eager Free Library needs to adjust to the changing needs of our society and this library seems to be stuck in a rut like a pig, who wants someone to bail them out.
They need to get off of their hind ends and do some fund raising as you suggested.

Sincerely ,
T.Worthington
tworthington99@yahoo.com

3 Responses to “Reader writes concerning Eager Free Public Library.”

  1. chasinthenews Says:

    To make clear a couple points you made.

    1. I am not for or against a larger library. I do not see a real need for a larger library when our family uses the Janesville library quite often, and we order through the library systems. So regardless we will always have options. We also have a couple kindles, and use the internet.

    If they are going to expand on this library the city needs to be ready to support it , by support I do not mean unlimited funds.

    I think new goals need to be made for the library in terms of what the community wants to see and how they want to use our library.

    2. I have no issues with anyone who works there. I am seldom in the Evansville library except to pick up and drop off books we have ordered.

    3. Our family is also able to use the Madison library system through my husbands work so we also have that. .

    4. I agree they need to stay within their budget , and fund raise. The library it self needs to fund raise , not Friends of the library.

    5. I also agree libraries no longer fill a need like they used to as the country has advanced in many ways. OUR town library is going to have to adjust.

  2. fiveonearth Says:

    Wondering if Mr. Worthington’s letter has been submitted to the Evansville Review, and if so, was it published?

  3. I have never bought a single copy of the Evansville Review and have no plans to do so. I get all the news I need about Evansville online between the blogs, the school webpage, and the City’s website it is all there and for free. If I have a question about something I call.

Comments are closed.

