Madison Fire Fighters show up in SUPPORT of STATE WORKERS

Madison Fire Fighters showed up IN SUPPORT of STATE WORKERS and TEACHERS today right down to the picket signs.

GOOD FOR THEM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  Even they know what is happening is WRONG.

6 Responses to “Madison Fire Fighters show up in SUPPORT of STATE WORKERS”

  1. michaelolson12 Says:

    Before you start calling for a “recall” I would think it all the way through. We are $3.6 Billion in debt for the state, not good. If you believe that there were no “behind closed doors” negotiations you are being foolish. How do you explain the radical change on WEAC’s stance on merit pay for teachers? I know you say Gov Walker is a bully, but the same can be said for the teachers union. For years they had huge influence over elected officials allowing them to do what they wanted and when they wanted, but now they don’t, so their bark has no bite. I think that the newly elected governor is making good on his campaign promises and I applaud him for that. Also, the recall would have to also be extended to the rest of the state congress that is backing him up. It’s clear that the people of Wisconsin wanted this change; Madison area does not accurately reflect the overall wants, needs, and values of the rest of the state. As far as the teachers are concerned, guess for the 5 months of the year they have off, they could get a second job. It was their free choice to go into a profession that was essentially a ¾ time job. I was a teacher, I know how much we “worked”. I got a second job because it I needed to stay busy and pay the bills. I didn’t let myself get fooled that is was a regular full time job. By definition, it is a seasonal full time job. And let me tell you, it is the ONLY seasonal full time job with health benefits and retirement. I’m very scared of the huge amount of debt we currently have in the state and the Nation. Let me ask you this, Can ANY non-for-profit business stay in operation and pay it’s employee’s if it’s operating operating was short by $3.6 Billion? I can give you a hint,….rhymes with no.

  2. chasinthenews Says:

    I do not disagree that changes needed to be made. I have made it clear on here that I do not think anyone should just get raises because they are under contract, such as teachers.

    I do not believe this is the way to do it. It is also as much as how he went about doing it.

    I did notice the Union’s change on merit pay. I have made it very clear on here that changes in particular to teachers need to be made.

    I stand by that. I do not think this is the way to do it.

    I have said before get rid of the Unions. This is just not the way.

  3. michaelolson12 Says:

    Unfortunately the teachers union has been in the driver’s seat of state negotiations for so long, I’m afraid they couldn’t bargain in good faith, forcing the Gov to react. Look at GM, their union had a large part in breaking that company. He’s also not taking away all of their collective bargaining rights, they can still bargain for wages. Maybe they should have thought more clearly before scoffing at the new Gov.

  4. chasinthenews Says:

    I agree that the Union for G.M. was a big part of the problem. Greed.

    The same can be said for the teacher’s union, greed.

    There is no Union where I work or my husband. I guess I am just grateful we have jobs.

  5. chasinthenews Says:

    I do think you should give a run at school board next year. It sounds as though you have good ideas and a good idea of how things run.

  6. michaelolson12 Says:

    Thanks, I’m looking into it next year if seats are available.

Comments are closed.

